Distinguished Alumni Awards

About the award

Each year the Wake Forest University Alumni Association presents awards to alumni whose achievements and recognition have reflected honor on their alma mater. There are several criteria for selection: alumnus/alumna who embodies the values and core principles of the University and has demonstrated extraordinary service to the University, their field, humanity, or society. The Distinguished Alumni Awards are conferred annually at a signature event that celebrates the achievements of each recipient.

This year’s recipients

he 2023 Distinguished Alumni Awards dinner was held on Friday, April 21, in the Sutton Center on Wake Forest’s Reynolda Campus. The 2023 honorees are Wake Forest trailblazer Beth Norbrey Hopkins (’73, P ’12, P ’15) and champion of the arts J. D. Wilson (’69, P ’01).

Previous award winners


Nominations are accepted from members of the Wake Forest community. The Executive Committee and the Volunteer Identification Committees of the Alumni Council, representing the Wake Forest Alumni Association, will suggest a list of finalists. These names will be reviewed and invitations will be extended to a small number of alumni each year.

The Pin

Designed and cast in 2010, the Distinguished Alumni Award pin was created to honor Wake Forest alumni who have received the highest honor of the Alumni Association. Given only to Distinguished Alumni Award honorees, this exclusive pin signifies our pride in these alumni whose lives reflect the spirit of Pro Humanitate.